Press Release

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports
Festival and Fairs Committee
Release Date:
Wednesday, 25 April 2018 - 5:27pm

A new Festival and Fairs Committee Executive Board has been appointed as preparations take shape for the 2018 Emancipation Festival.

The board members include returning Chairman, Trefor Grant; Deputy Chairman, Xavyrna Samuels; Treasurer, Nashema Smith-McKenzie; and Public Relations Officer Lynette Harrigan.

Minister for Education and Culture, Honourable Myron V. Walwyn said Government has recognised the current financial circumstances of the Territory and strict instructions were given to the committee to ensure that the celebration remains within budget. He added that the festivities will be scaled down from what residents have grown accustomed to over the years.

Historical events such as the Miss BVI pageant, Rise and Shine Tramp, Emancipation Service, August Monday Parade and village entertainment will remain a part of this year’s celebration.

Minister Walwyn, while highlighting the plan to forge ahead with the August festivities, underscored the cultural significance of the celebration to the Territory and the overall recovery process.

He said, “As the Territory continues on its journey towards recovery, it is important for us to remember the vital role that the acknowledgment and continuation of cultural events play in contributing to the overall recovery process. The Emancipation Festival is engrained into the history of this Territory and every effort should be made to ensure that it is continued — even if it isn’t on the grand scale that we have grown accustomed to.”

The other members of the board include Secretary and Culture Officer (ex-officio), Luce Hodge-Smith; Permanent Secretary Representative, Brenda Lettsome Tye; BVI Tourist Board Representative, Carnel Cline; Virgin Gorda Easter Festival Committee Representative, Lyra George; Carrot Bay Cultural Fiesta Representative, Judy-Ann Smith; East End/Long Look Festival Committee Representative, Sandra Potter-Warrican; Anegada Representative, Harella Wheatley; and Jost Van Dyke Representative, Ricky Callwood. Other committee members include: Lyndon Hodge, Ottley Hodge, Marvin Blyden, Stuart Donovan, Kathryn Smith, Samuel Hodge, and Richard Georges.

Persons wishing to assist with the upcoming celebration are asked to contact Mrs. Luce Hodge-Smith in the Department of Culture at


Berta McKelly Adams

Assistant Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2740