Press Release

Office of the Deputy Governor
Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court
The Courts
Release Date:
Thursday, 23 February 2017 - 12:23pm

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) will celebrate its 50th anniversary on February 27. 

The court was inaugurated on February 27, 1967 as a replacement to the Supreme Court of the Windward and Leeward Islands, which served the territories of the Eastern Caribbean that are now members of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS).

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court has jurisdiction in Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Montserrat. The institution has also gained renowned success as a superior court of record.

Her Ladyship, the Honourable Dame Janice M. Pereira, DBE, Chief Justice said, “The golden anniversary of the ECSC is not only cause for celebration, but it is also a time for reflection on our past and future. I am inviting the public to be a part of the celebration of this milestone because this is our court, and our achievement. Therefore, we all have reason to celebrate.” 

Her Ladyship added, “Together, we can sustain the ECSC’s longstanding tradition of excellence by learning from our past, building on our strengths, adapting to change, and embracing the future. Hence, the theme for the 50th anniversary- "Celebrating the Past, Embracing the Future”.

A number of celebratory activities have been planned in the various Member States and Territories. Celebrations in the Territory will begin with a church service on Sunday, February 26 at 10:00 a.m. at the New Life Baptist Church.

A special sitting of the Supreme Court will be held on Monday, February 27 at 8:30 a.m. at the High Court to mark this occasion.

The public is encouraged to join in the 50th anniversary celebrations.


Colene A. Penn

Head of Communications
Recovery and Development Agency
Tel: +1 (284) 345-2776 | Mobile: +1 (284) 345-3387