Photo and Caption

Ministry of Natural Resources and Labour
Department of Labour and Workforce Development
Release Date:
Friday, 5 July 2019 - 5:12pm

Staff at the renamed Department of Labour and Workforce Development is pictured with their department’s new logo following a renaming ceremony held on Friday, July 5. The renaming was part of the Government of the Virgin Islands’ pledge to improve labour relations and develop the Territory’s workforce. The event was addressed by officials including Acting Premier and Minister Transportation, Works and Utilities, Honourable Kye Rymer; Minister for Natural Resources, Labour and Immigration, Honourable Vincent Wheatley; Labour Commissioner, Mrs. Janice Rymer; Deputy Commissioner, Mrs. Michelle McLean and other stakeholders.  Minister for Health and Social Development, Honourable Carvin Malone; Deputy Speaker for the House of Assembly, Honourable Neville Smith and Junior Minister for Tourism, Honourable Shereen Flax-Charles were also present at the renaming ceremony. The full video of the ceremony is available on Youtube @bvigovernment.


Paul Bridgewater

Information Officer I (Ag.)
Department of Information and Public Relations