Press Release

Ministry of Health & Social Development
Public Health
Release Date:
Friday, 28 October 2016 - 4:48pm

In an effort to strengthen the development of occupational health and safety in the Territory, an Occupation Health and Safety Subcommittee was established under the Virgin Islands National Health and Wellness Advisory Council.

 The committee was established to provide leadership, coordination, planning, training, policies and strategies that will improve the workplace environment and workforce population in the Territory. 

Coordinator for Health Promotion Services and National Focal Point for Non Communicable Diseases, Ms. Ivy George said, “The Occupation Health and Safety Subcommittee will deal with health, safety and well-being of workers who are the most vulnerable to occupational diseases and accidents.”

Ms. George also said, “Through the committee, the development of occupational health, safety and wellbeing will be better coordinated and integrated across the various sectors.”

 The subcommittee, one of five subcommittees of the Virgin Islands National Health and Wellness Advisory Council, is comprised of representatives from both Government and private sector. The Chairman is Deputy Labour Commissioner Ms. Michelle Mclean; and the Deputy Chairman, is Ogier Practice Manager, Decoy Mactavious.

Other members are drawn from agencies such as BVI Teachers Union, Virgin Islands Human Resources Association, BVI Chamber of Commerce and Hotel Association, BVI Tourist Board, H. Lavity Stoutt Community College, BVI Health Services Authority, BVI Social Security Board, Road Town Wholesale, and various Government departments.

The BVI Health and Wellness Advisory Council’s primary role is to give oversight of the implementation of the Government of the Virgin Islands’ ten-year Non-Communicable Diseases Prevention and Control strategy: “Towards a Healthy BVI”.

The council comprises representatives from the Government, private sector, and local community.   It is supported by two implementation arms: the Inter-departmental Technical Working Group, whose primary role is to facilitate cross sectorial collaboration and integration across Government; and Community Councils, which uses a community development approach, to coordinate the community response through active community participation.

 The Ministry of Health is committed to ensuring that all aspects of the environment are managed efficiently to enable all persons in the BVI to attain and maintain optimal health and well-being.


Natasha Lettsome-Humphrey

Public Health Communications Specialist
Ministry of Health/Social Development
Telephone: 468-2286