Press Release

Ministry of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports
Release Date:
Friday, 20 February 2015 - 5:00pm

Thirteen (13) schools have advanced to the Spelling Bee Finals of the 2015 National Inter-school Spelling Bee Competition after competitive preliminary rounds held earlier this week for both primary and secondary schools.

During an intense competition on Monday February 16, nineteen primary schools participated in the preliminary round. Ten schools moved on to the finals of the primary category with First Impressions’ Primary and St. Mary’s School spelling all their words correctly.

The other eight (8) primary schools are Enis Adams Primary, Robinson O’Neal Memorial Primary, Ivan Dawson Primary, Agapé Total Life Academy, Isabella Morris Primary, Willard Wheatley Primary, BVI Seventh-day Adventist Primary and Ebenezer Thomas Primary.

Meanwhile, on Wednesday, February 18, seven of the nine participants from one private and three public secondary schools advanced to the final round of the secondary category. Those students are Kimberly Howell, Rondel Smith and Ebony Warren of the Claudia Creque Educational Centre Secondary Division, Harsh Banthia and Jaani Ricketts of the Bregado Flax Educational Centre Secondary Division and Justine Bryson of Cedar International School.

Spelling Bee Coordinator and Education Officer, Mrs. Susan Frett- Potter, stated that it was evident that the students were well-prepared for both competitions.

“I would like to especially thank the parents and teachers who did an exceptional job in preparing the students for the preliminary rounds”, Mrs. Frett-Potter said.

The final rounds for the primary and secondary school categories are scheduled for Tuesday, March 3 and Wednesday, March 4 respectively, at the Sir Rupert Briercliffe Hall at 6:30 p.m.

The Spelling Bee Competition is held annually by the Ministry of Education in partnership with the Rotary Club of Road Town.

The Ministry of Education and Culture is committed to the advancement of the Territory’s students as it endeavours to create a Culture of Excellence. 


Sheriece T. Smith

Information Officer II 
Dept. of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468- 2740