Press Release

Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture
Education, Schools
Release Date:
Tuesday, 25 February 2020 - 3:24pm

Students of the Joyce Samuel Primary School (JSPS) are the recipients of books from the BVI National Commission for UNESCO as part of an initiative with Reading Room VI’s team of volunteers.

Secretary General of the BVI National Commission for UNESCO, Dr. Allison Flax-Archer commended members on the Reading Room VI initiative for including the students in such a worthwhile cause and at the same time, fostering their love for reading.

Dr. Archer said, “Keeping our students interested in reading is fundamental, and I am happy to see that this group has reached out to the UNESCO BVI branch to form a partnership where our students can benefit in such a significant manner.”

Director of Reading Room VI, Ms. Sharmin S. Nibbs said that since the school already has well established classroom libraries, the book donation through UNESCO will go towards further furnishing the classroom libraries with additional high interest reading material.

Ms. Nibbs said, “It is imperative for our students to see that we are interested to see that they practice reading every day.  As such, we joined in the effort to find a way to keep the love for reading alive, and so far we are happy to report that we have been able to donate to five schools.” 

The students were grateful for the books that will assist them in becoming readers.

Ms. Nibbs said the seven (7) volunteers have joined resources and are linking students to literary resources by building and furnishing outdoor and classroom libraries, and placing at least one in each district from Anegada to Jost Van Dyke.

These schools are the Ebenezer Thomas, Enis Adams, Althea Scatliffe (in partnership with Rotary Club Sunrise of Road Town) and the Francis Lettsome (funded by Guana Fund) Primary Schools.

Members of the Reading Room VI volunteer team, include:

•Sharmin Nibbs - Director of Reading Room VI
•Bria Smith - Miss BVI 2019
•Clive McCoy - Film Commissioner, BVI Tourist Board
•Dr. Allison Flax-Archer - Secretary General, BVI National Commission for UNESCO
•Brittney Smith - Associate Lawyer, Walkers
•Marisa Malone - Owner, Virgin Islands Made


Berta McKelly Adams

Assistant Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2740