Press Release

Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture
Education Advisory Board
Release Date:
Thursday, 11 March 2021 - 12:52pm

Minister for Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture, Dr. the Honourable Natalio D. Wheatley has appointed new members to the Education Advisory Board following Cabinet’s approval and acting in accordance with Section 3 of the Education Act, 2004.

Mr. Stacy Mather and Mr. Kayron Todman were appointed as Chairman and Deputy Chairman, respectively following the inaugural meeting of the board.

Other members include:

  • Dr. Arlene Smith-Thompson;
  • Mrs. Derecia Scatliffe-Thomas;
  • Mr. Willis Potter;
  • Pastor Naaman Chalwell;
  • Ms. Rochelle Lawrence;
  • Mrs. Corine George-Massicot;
  • Mr. Hilroy George;
  • Mrs. Gracia Stevens; and
  • Ms. Tammy Henry.

The members of the Advisory Board were selected based on their various areas of expertise in accordance with Section 10 of the Education Act. Each member represents specific stakeholder groups within the Territory ranging from the business community, technological, vocational or business education, organisations concerned with community development, principals, teachers, educational opinions, Parent Teacher Associations, the religious community, tertiary education, the sister islands and the legal community.

The role of the Education Advisory Board is to advise the minister on matters:

  1. Connected with education as it thinks fit;
  2. Respecting the performance of any of the minister’s responsibilities or the exercise of his powers under this Act and regulations as the minister refers to it; and
  3. Relating to the promotion of education as the minister refers to it.

Honourable Wheatley said, “It is my hope that the Education Advisory Board will catalyse the collaboration necessary among all stakeholders to catapult the education system to the next level.”

Members will serve for a period of two years.

The Education Act is the governing legislation for education in the Territory of the Virgin Islands. Section 10 (1) authorises the Minister for Education to establish a body to be called the Education Advisory Board.


  • Photo of Board Members


Nekita Turnbull

Information Officer II
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2730