Press Release

Office of the Governor
Office of the Deputy Governor
Department of Human Resources
Release Date:
Friday, 19 October 2018 - 5:28pm

Seventy-one former Public Officers were recognised and honoured at a ‘Retirees Dinner’ for their years of service to the Territory. 

Deputy Governor, Mr. David. D. Archer Jr. congratulated the retirees and esteemed them as persons who have shown extreme dedication to the recovery efforts of the BVI, especially following the storms of 2017.

Mr. Archer Jr. expressed his gratitude and appreciation for their contributions to the Public Service, and encouraged retirees to be optimistic and to embrace future opportunities that may come their way.   

Director of Human Resources Department, Mrs. Michelle Donovan Stevens told the retirees that they are a part of the Public Service bedrock and their contributions to new health facilities and services, the molding of academic minds, development of structure and the delivery of essential services will not be forgotten.

Mrs. Donovan Stevens said, “Your achievements and longevity reminds us that when purpose trumps the problem, greatness comes from great challenge. I hope that you have a strong sense of accomplishment and appreciation for your role in building this nation and enriching the lives of others.”

The retirees expressed their appreciation at being recognised and honoured for their contribution to the development of the Public Service.

“It was wonderful,” one person said, adding. “I enjoyed myself.” Another honoree said, “A Job well done by the Human Resources Team…congratulations and thank you. It was truly a blessed and exciting evening.”

The 2018 Retirees Dinner was held on October 16 at the Moorings Mainer Inn. The event’s programme also featured a video presentation by His Excellency the Governor, Augustus J. U. Jaspert, remarks by Acting Premier at the time Dr. the Honourable Kedrick D. Pickering, and a Keynote Address by Apostle Curnal Fahie.

Chairperson of the Recognition Committee, Mrs. Noreen Callwood-Lewis thanked the businesses that provided special gift certificates for the Retirees Trivia segment of the dinner.  These businesses includes:  Clarence Thomas Ltd, Bananakeet Café, Studio One, Native Son Inc. and Pancake Paradise.


  • Retiree Triva winner Mrs. Lorna Callwood- Creque (Photo credit: Ronnielle Frazer/GIS)
  • Retiree Mr. Garvin Turnbull presented with certificate by Acting at the time Premier Dr. the Honourable Kedrick D. Pickering (Photo credit: Ronnielle Frazer/GIS)
  • Chairperson of the Recognition Committee, Mrs. Noreen Callwood –Lewis addressing the 2018 Retirees (Photo credit; Ronnielle Frazer/GIS)
  • List of 2018 Retirees:

A. Monica Cills-Hodge        BVI Technical Vocational Institute

Alicia Paul                            Department of Information Technology

Allene L. Brewley-Roach   BVI Health Services Authority

Almeda Blyden                     Adina Donovan Home for the Elderly

Almira Smith                                    BVI Health Services Authority

Angel Sanchez                    Public Works Department

Ann Phillips                         Department of Motor Vehicles

Arlene Smith-Thompson    Office of the Deputy Governor

Atlee E. Chalwell                 Public Works Department

Caren Mactavious               Ministry of Education & Culture

Carlene Scatliffe                 Trade Investment Promotion & Consumer Affairs

Caroline K. Harrigan           Ministry of Education & Culture

Claudia A. Walters              Ministry of Education & Culture

Clement Williams                BVI Ports Authority

Cleone Maduro                    Department of Human Resources

Clifton Williams                   Department of Waste Management

Dale Lake                             Department of Disaster Management

Darlene D. Lettsome           Department of Agriculture

Deborah Maddox                Ministry of Finance

Delrice Mactavious             BVI Health Services Authority

Delvin Jennings                  Water & Sewerage Department

Derick Braithwaite              Facilities Management Unit

Earl Forbes                          Land & Survey Department

Florena Smith                       BVI Health Services Authority

Gavin Turnbull                     Department of Agriculture

George Maduro                    Department of Waste Management

Gregory Smith                      Department of Agriculture

Guy Hill                                  Immigration Department

Gwendolee Barzey             Royal Virgin Islands Police Force

Hemchand Singh               Royal Virgin Islands Police Force

Heneto Rymer                      Department of Agriculture

Idalia Chinnery-White         Adina Donovan Home for the Elderly

Idalia Pickering                    Ministry of Education & Culture

Iris M. Edwards                     Department of Human Resources

Jack Brodie                          Social Development Department

Joycelyn Rhymer-Mack      Royal Virgin Islands Police Force

Julie Malone-Todman         Supreme Court

Kerry Chalwell                     Premier's Office

Leroy Grant                          Public Works Department

Lindsay F. Pereira              Department of Agriculture

Lira Farrington                      Magistrate Court

Lloyd Chung                        Department of Waste Management

Lorna Callwood- Creque    Royal Virgin Islands Police Force

Lorraine A. Walters             BVI Post

Mariet V. Cameron              Department of Human Resources

Marreth R. Smith                 Department of Agriculture

Morvett Cannonier              Adina Donovan Home for the Elderly

Moviene Fahie                    Department of Agriculture

Ohenio M. Smith                 Department of Waste Management

Paul Fenty                           Ministry of Education & Culture

Paulette McCleary              Land  and Survey Department

Phillipa Barry                       BVI Health Services Authority

Reginald Hodge                 Central Statistics Office

Reynold Huggins              Elmore Stoutt High School

Rudolph David                   Royal Virgin Islands Police Force

Rueben Thomas                Department of Agriculture

Sandra Rabsatt                  Ministry of Education & Culture

Sesilee Thomas                Social Development Department

Shanika Bradshaw           Immigration Department

Sharon Vazquez               Ministry of Education & Culture

Shyril Smith                       Ministry of Education & Culture

Siv Scatliffe                        Ministry of Education & Culture

Sydney Dougan                Adina Donovan Home for the Elderly

Thomas Bell                       Ministry of Education & Culture

Vadis Frett                         BVI Fishing Complex

Wendell Gaskin                Ministry of Finance

Wendell Parsons             Supreme Court & Passport Office

Wilford Vanterpool           Department of Motor Vehicles

Winston Maduro              Public Works Department

Wynford Hanley               Her Majesty’s Customs

Yvonne Rhymer               Ministry of Health & Social Development



Sheriece T. Smith

Information Officer II 
Dept. of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468- 2740