Press Release

Premier's Office
Planning Authority
Release Date:
Wednesday, 16 February 2022 - 3:46pm

The Cabinet of the Virgin Islands has approved the appointment of five persons to serve as members of the Physical Planning Appeals Tribunal.

The five-member team comprise Chairman Mr. Marvin Flax Jr., Mr. Bennet Smith, Ms. Kamika Forbes, Mrs. Marva Titley Smith and Mr. Jerome Frett. The team will serve for a period of four months with effect from January 21 to May 22.

The Appeals Tribunal is established in accordance with the Physical Planning Act, 2004 Part VIII, Section 65. The tribunal is responsible for examining issues between applicants who seek development approval and Physical Planning Authorities who decide the outcome of the respective development application.

Planning applicants who are dissatisfied with a decision of the Planning Authorities, may appeal that decision to the Appeals Tribunal. The tribunal is to also determine the merits of an appeal of the authorities decision.

According to Schedule 4 of the Act, the Appeals Tribunal shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the minister from among persons trained and experienced in specific planning related areas and professions such as architect, lawyer, engineer, environmental, coastal/marine and physical planning.



Berta McKelly Adams

Assistant Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2740