Press Release

Department of Information and Public Relations
H Lavity Stoutt Community College
Release Date:
Wednesday, 28 February 2024 - 2:36pm

Students of the H. Lavity Stoutt Community College presented a captivating flashback of the First Sitting of the 13th Legislative Council in 1995 that highlighted various plans of past leaders.

The re-enactment which is part of the 24th H. Lavity Stoutt Commemorative Celebration was a condensed version of the 1995 sitting capturing the vision of the members at the time, most of which have come to fruition.  Plans included the expansion of the hospital, the Central Administration Complex, and the introduction of Integrity legislation.

In her remarks, Acting Premier, Honourable Lorna G. Smith, OBE addressed three passions of Mr. Stoutt: passion for the Territory, passion for the development of young people and passion for excellence.

“Mr. Stoutt was elected at the age of 27, and even at that age he had a vision for this country to be world-class. And until he passed that was his vision.” Honourable Smith added, “Yes the world has changed since he died in 1995, but his three passions remain.”    

Past members from the 1995 sitting were also in attendance. These included, Mr. Alvin Christopher, Mr. Keith Flax and Mrs. Eileene L. Parsons, OBE, who was one of the two first elected females.

Members of the cast:

Honourable H. Lavity Stoutt - Chikae Stoutt-Igwe (relative)

Honourable Ralph T. O'Neal - Jadique Gibson (relative)

Honourable Oliver Cills - Nathan Nibbs (relative)

Honourable J. Alvin Christopher - Rochanna Butler

Honourable Reeial George - Jhadazia Lennard (relative)

Honourable Alred Frett - Calize Matthew

Honourable Terrance B. Lettsome - Tanesha Warner

Honourable R. Dancia Penn - Kizzel Nape

Honourable Conrad Maduro - K'Mano Maduro (relative)

Honourable Andre Penn - Jaresha Rubaine

Honourable Omar W. Hodge - Palesa Caesar

Honourable E. Walwyn Brewley - Malacoy Levons

Honourable Ethlyn Smith - Michelle Jennings

Honourable Eileene L. Parsons - Jade Smith

Mr. Keith Flax (Speaker) - Bria Smith

Mr. Allington Hodge (Clerk) - Sarai Smith

Clerk Assistant - Julisa Pitt

Sergeant-at-Arms - Henrique Warren

Rev. Selwyn Vanterpool (Chaplain) - Alleyne Norlay

The First Sitting of the 13th Legislative Council was held on the 2nd March, 1995. This was the last sitting for late H. Lavity Stoutt, whose Government was in power at the time. He died in office on 14th  May, 1995.

To view the re-enactment, visit the government’s Facebook page @bvigovernment or

The celebration continues with the following activities:

  • Wreath Laying Ceremony – Monday, March 4, 9:30 a.m. at the Cappoons Bay Cemetery;
  • Radio Quiz – Wednesday, March 6, 6:20 a.m. on ZBVI Radio 780AM; and
  • Fair to showcase the impact of H. L. Stoutt – Thursday, March 7, 9:30 a.m. until noon at the Elmore Stoutt High School.

All events are free and open to the public.

Background: The Government of the Virgin Islands continues to celebrate the life of the late H. Lavity Stoutt,,National Hero of the Territory, every year on the first Monday in March. The day is declared a public holiday in celebration of the anniversary of the birthday of the Territory’s first Chief Minister. On October 13, 2023, during the House of Assembly, H. Lavity Stoutt was among 10 persons named in a resolution as the Territory’s first group of National Heroes.





Nekita Turnbull

Ag. Deputy Chief Information Officer
Department of Information & Public Relations 
Telephone: 468-2730