As a part of the 1999 Public Sector Development Programme (PSDP) initiative, a group called the Young Professionals was tasked with assessing the state of the three major Sister Islands: Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost Van Dyke. The activity aptly called the “Sister Island Project.” The work of the Young Professionals resulted in the establishment of a Sister Islands Programme and Coordinator. The Unit is a coordinating body which also monitors and reports on Government and other activities on the Sister Islands and makes recommendations for improvements. The Unit also facilitates visits by Government and other special visitors on the Sister Islands. The Sister Islands Programme covers the following:

  • The three (3) main islands Sister Islands: Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost Van Dyke
  •  The Southern Cays which include:
    • Norman Island
    • Peter Island
    • Salt Island
    • Cooper Island
    • Ginger Island
    • Little Thatch
    • Great Thatch
    • The Indians
    • Fallen Jerusalem
    • Buck Island 


  • Northern Islands which include:
    • Little Jost Van Dyke
    • Little Tobago
    • Great Tobago
    • Sandy Spit 
    • Green Cay 
    • Sandy Cay 
    • Guana Island 
    • Great and Little Camanoe
    • Scrub Island
    • Marina Cay
    • Prickly Pear
    • Eustacia Island
    • Necker Island
    • Mokisto Island
    • West and Great Dog


Programme Elements

The Sister Islands Programme also covers the following elements:


Sister Islands Coordinator - Mrs. Monel Nickie

The Sister Islands Coordinator serves as itinerant Administrator for the Sister Islands and monitors, promotes, and facilitates the execution of projects designed to bring about sustained improvement in the quality and delivery of Government Services. She is responsible for providing expert advice on programmes and projects to improve the delivery of services to Sister Islands to ensure an acceptable standard of living. She will supervise the work of as well as provide leadership and information to District Officers assigned to Sister Islands in order to monitor compliance with laws, policies, rules, and regulations. 

District Officers

District Officers of Anegada, Virgin Gorda, and Jost Van Dyke assist with carrying out and overseeing the performance of official duties on the Sister Islands in an efficient and competent manner to ensure that departmental objectives are met. They serve as a focal point for all official enquiries on the island in order to facilitate effective communication and flow of information. 

Anegada- Ms. Shirley Vanterpool

Virgin Gorda- Mrs. Monel Nickie

Jost Van Dyke- Mrs. Carmen Blyden

Department Contact Information

To make contact with Sister Islands Programme unit, see below for contact information:

Sister Islands Programme unit

Office of the Deputy Governor Government of the Virgin Islands Road Town,Tortola VG 1110 British Virgin Islands

Business Hours:

Monday - Friday  
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Email Address:

 Tel: 284 468 6590